Al Rayyan Crowned Champions of the Qatargas League 2014-2015

Post Views: 77
Doha-Qatar – Qatar Football Association (QFA) and Qatargas crowned Al Rayyan as champions of the Qatargas League 2014-2015 season during a ceremony held at Al Arabi Sports Club today.  Mesaimeer claimed the second place.  Al Rayyan and Mesaimeer have ascended to Qatar Stars League and will compete as first division clubs starting next season.

The event was attended by senior officials from Qatargas and QFA, as well as hundreds of Al Rayyan fans and Qatargas employees.  The Qatargas League, which is a combination of reserve and Second Division teams, brings together some of the most aspiring young footballers in Qatar.

Qatargas’ support to the tournament is part of the Company’s support to sports in general and football in particular due its immense popularity in Qatar.  Qatargas believes that its partnership with the QFA through the Qatargas League will contribute to enhancing the development of football in Qatar, especially as the country is getting ready to host the World Cup in 2022.
The 2014-2015 season of the Qatargas League kicked off in September 2014.  Matches were played in eight different stadia including Al Sadd, Qatar, Al Gharrafa,  Lekhwiya, Al Arabi, Al Wakrah, Al Khor, and Al Sailiya.  The Qatargas League follows a standard league format where two teams from the second division will ascend to Qatar Stars League (QSL) based on their ranking, whilst the 13th and 14th place teams in QSL will be relegated directly from QSL to Qatargas League.
The Qatargas League was launched by QFA and Qatargas in 2013.  As a premier LNG Company, Qatargas’ support to the game of football forms part of its corporate social responsibility program in the field of sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *